Wicklow swimming Club Sunday 5th July 2015

There were one hundred and fifty two swimmers competing in swimming races on Sunday 5th July. Conditions weren’t too bad, the sun was shining, but the wind was causing choppy conditions in the harbour.

The Junior Sprints were on first; Under 6 Boys; 1st Kian Copeland

Under 6 Girls; 1st Ruth Connolly 2nd Taylor Sherry 3rd Mei Wilson.

Under 8 Boys: 1st Jacob Fry 2nd Des Brennan Jnr 3rd Frank Ahearne.

Under 8 Girls; 1st Anya Wilson 2nd Jill Connolly 3rd Suzie Gurrie.

Under 10 boys: 1st Elliott Gaynor 2nd John Ahearne 3rd Mike Connolly.

Under 10 Girls: 1st Molly Mae Sherry 2nd Eadaoin O’Keane 3rd Saoirse Dolan.

Under 12 Boys: 1st Chris Devereux 2nd Ben Lawless 3rd Niall Somers.

Under 12 Girls: 1st Maya Gaynor 2nd Laura Griffin 3rd Sarah Flood

Next up was the Junior Challenge as nineteen juniors swam 160 metres; 1st Laura Griffin, 2nd Olivia O’Donovan and 3rd Kelly O’Neill.

The Intermediates swam 500 metres for the Cleary cup. In a very close finish Maya Flynn took first place, Mia McCann was second and Mia Kristensen, third.

The Youth section is growing in numbers and had a field of eighteen young swimmers for the Cleary-O’Neill cup. This was a tough swim of 800 metres that saw Eve Cowdrey take first place, with Ciara Brennan in second and Patrick Keogh in third.

Ninety one seniors raced 1000 metres for the Sean Kelly memorial cup. This was another great race with the lead changing several times coming in the pier. John Kelly was on hand to present the prize’s to; 1st Scott Morton, 2nd Gavin McInerney, 3rd Ross Beacom.

Congratulations to Eimear Kelly and Emma O’Brien from Wicklow Surf Life Saving, who have been selected for Ireland, to compete in the European Championships.

Racing for this week starts tonight; Thursday 9th July 18.45 with the Youths “Around the Harbour” Sponsored by Ann Corcoran and 7.15pm the seniors race the “Around the Harbour” sponsored by Patrick Doyle. Racing for Sunday 12th July starts at 10.15am Junior Sprints, 10.30am Junior Challenge, 11am Intermediate – Shannen May Memorial Cup, 11am Youths, and 12 noon – senior race for the Phil Healy cup.