Wicklow Swimming Club results 24th/28th June 2015

It was a busy week for the Swimming Club as mid-week racing started on Wednesday 24th June.

Conditions were good as twenty Intermediates swam 240 metres in a sealed handicap race, for the Silver Shop cup; Ciaran Leonard won the race, with Matthew Leonard in second and Sadhbh Dunne in third place.

Ninety seven senior swimmers competed for the Aura thophy, Aishling Beacom swam a great race to finish first, with Clare Moulders in second and Brian Kelly third.

One hundred and fourty two swimmers took part in racing on Sunday morning, 28th June.

It started with the Junior sprints; Under 6 Boys: 1st Kian Copeland 2nd Bill Guinan.

Under 6 Girls: 1st Mei Wilson 2nd Ruth Connolly.

Under 8 Boys: 1st Jacob Fry 2nd Darragh Bouchier 3rd Frank Ahearne.

Under 8 Girls: 1st Niamh Waters 2nd Jill Connolly 3rd Abby Copeland.

Under 10 Boys: 1st Kai Fitzsimons 2nd Harri Armstrong 3rd Mike Connolly.

Under 10 Girls: 1st Emma Waters 2nd Eadoin O’Keane 3rd Saoirse Dolan.

Under 12 Girls: 1st Amy Jane Sillery 2nd Laura Griffin 3rd Lauren Hasler.

Under 12 Boys: 1st Ben Lawless 2nd Conall Molloy 3rd Chris Bouchier
Then eighteen Juniors got back in the water to take part in The Junior Challenge; 1st Sienna Brennan, 2nd Aimee Bell-King, 3rd Laura Griffin.

The Intermediates swam for the Town Council cup, in what turned out to be a very close finish; 1st Abby Horner, 2nd Dara Owens, 3rd Nathan O’Connor.

Next up was a 650 metre swim for the Youths; 1st Rachel Millea, 2nd Nicole Devitt, 3rd Patrick Keogh.

There were seventy nine swimmers competing for the Senior Town Council cup. This was another exciting race with a close finish the seen Sinead Moran take first place with Cliona Byrne in second and Bren Conway third.

The first of the Open Sea swims hosted by the swimming club was held on Sunday afternoon 28th June. Two hundred and fifteen swimmers from clubs in the Leinster region took part in this 1.3km race from the Glen Strand to the Black Castle. Results will be on the Leinster sea swimming web site from Monday.

Congratulations to Eimear Kelly who won the Kiliney open sea swim, along with Hanna Blake, Amy O’Brien and Joan Morton who won the team event for Wicklow swimming Club.

Racing for this week starts tonight, Wednesday 1st July at 6.45pm Kenny cup – Intermediates and 7.15pm the seniors race for the Ral O’Brien memorial cup. Racing for Sunday 28th June starts at.15am Junior Sprints, 10.30am Junior Challenge, 11am Intermediate – Cleary cup, 11am Youths – Cleary cup, and 12 noon – senior race for the Sean Kelly memorial cup.