Category Archives: Junior News

News, information for the Junior section in current year

Wicklow Swimming Club Results 10th July 2016

Wicklow Swimming Club Results 10th July 2016

Sunday morning 10th July was overcast with relatively calm water as one hundred and fifty five swimmers competed in races.

40 junior swimmers competed in the sprints:-

Under 6 Boys:

1st Bill Guinan 2ND Ewan Lennox

Under 6 Girls:

1st Grace Vigors 2nd Kate Byrne 3rd Olivia Guinan

Under 8 Boys:

1st Oisin Dunne 2nd Frank Ahearne 3rd Kian Copeland

Under 8 Girls:

1st Sarah Curry 2nd Mei Wilson 3rd Sadbh Hartley

Under 10 Boys:

1st Chris Huilin 2nd David Johnston 3rd John Ahearne

Under 10 Girls:

1st Molly Mae Sherry 2nd Amy Noble 3rd Evie Vigors

Under 12 Boys:

1st Brian Johnston 2nd Mike Connolly 3rd Michael Cassidy

Under 12 Girls:

1st Sophie Powers 2nd Juno Cherry Roberts 3rd Marie Galligan

Under 14 Boys:

1st Luigi Rea

Twenty five Juniors swam 125 metres out into deep water for the Junior Challenge; 1st Cian Leonard, 2nd Elliot Gaynot, 3rd Molly May Sherry.

The Intermediates were racing for the Shannen-May memorial cup; 1st Ciaran Carey, 2nd Amy Joe Sillery, 3rd Kirsty Dunne.

The Youths raced for the Sophisticuts cup; 1st Emma Kristiansen, 2nd Ava Frazer, 3rd Ciara Brennan.

The prestigious Phil Healy cup was the prize for the senior race; this was a very long swim of 1200 metres made that bit more difficult, by choppy water on the last 400 metres. Cathriona Cary put in a great swim to take first place, just ahead of Denis O’Brien in second and Damien Leonard in third place.

It’s a busy week ahead for racing, starting Wednesday 13th July at 6.45pm Youths – Around the harbour sponsored by Ann Corcoran, 7.15pm senior – Around the Harbour sponsored by Patrick Doyle. The Healy-O’Kane Open sea swim is on Saturday 16th July; Gents race 2.30pm and Ladies race 3.15pm. Racing for Sunday 17th July starts at 10.15am Junior Sprints, 10.30am Junior Challenge , 11 am Intermediates – Coello cup sponsored by the Sheekey family, 11am Youths – BC Sports cup, and 12 noon – the seniors race for the Rocky Newsome memorial cup.